Full List Of Winners At The 6th Nigerian Broadcasters Merit Awards (NBMA)

The sixth edition of Nigerian Broadcasters Merit Awards held on Saturday February 27, 2016, amidst pomp and pageantry at the Grand Ballroom of Barcelona Hotel, Abuja.

The event had several broadcasters from across the country in attendance.

His Excellency, Rotimi Amaechi, the Minister for Transportation bagged ‘Most Media Friendly Politician’ while veteran broadcasters, Olusesan Ekisola and Mani Onumonu were inducted into the Nigerian Broadcaster Hall of Fame.

The event, which was chaired by the Minister for Communication, Barrister Adebayo Shittu, saw Elder Sunny Okogwu honoured for his immeasurable contributions to the development of the Nigerian media industry and his excellence in public service and unwavering involvement in corporate social responsibility.

Dr. Ahmed Tijjani who has been playing the role of patron, was confirmed as the Grand Patron of the Nigerian Broadcasters Merit Awards.

The event was hosted by the famous TV celebrity couple Isaac and Nneka Moses. The super duo of Goge Africa fame were also inducted into the Nigerian Broadcasters Hall of Fame.

Below is the full list of winners at NBMA 2015:


1-Best TV Station of the Year (NATIONAL)
2-Best TV Station (REGIONAL) (Viewer’s Choice)
– ITV (Benin)
3-Best TV Channel (Viewer’s Choice) 
– Liberty TV
4-Best Indigenous TV Channel (Viewers Choice)
– Liberty TV (Hausa)
5-Best Entertainment Channel (Africa) (Viewer’s Choice)
6- Best TV Station with the widest coverage
7-Best Entertainment Channel (International) (Viewer’s Choice)
– Planet Radio TV (PRTV)
8-TV Channel with Best News coverage
– TVC News (Nigeria/Africa)
9-TV Station with Best Creative Innovation
– Ancient of Days TV
10- TV Channel with Best Station Imaging.
– EbonyLife TV
11-TV Channel with Best Coverage of Live Events
– Channels TV
12-Best New TV Station/Channel.
– Wazobia TV
13-Most Watched TV Channel of the Year (Viewers Choice)
–   TVC


1-Best Radio Station (Lagos)
-Radio Continental
2-Best Radio Station (North)
– WE FM (Abuja)
3-Best Radio Station (South-West)
– Splash FM (Ibadan)
4-Best Radio Station (South-East)
– Radio Sapientia (Onitsha)
5-Best Radio Station (SOUTH-SOUTH)
– KU FM (Benin)
6-Radio Station with Best News Coverage – (National)
– Hot FM
7-Radio Station with Best News Coverage – (North)
– Nigeria Info (Abuja)
8-Radio Station with Best News Coverage – (South-West)
–  Space FM (Ibadan)
9-Radio Station with Best News Coverage – (South-East)
– Magic FM (Aba)
10-Radio Station with Best News Coverage – (South-South)
– Wave FM (Port Harcourt)
11-Best New Radio Station
– Lagelu FM (Ibadan)
12-Radio Channel with Best Station Imaging.
– City FM 25003
13-Radio Station with Best Creative Innovation
-Inspiration FM (Ibadan)


1-Best Indigenous Radio Station (South-West) (Yoruba/Pidgin) (Listener’s Choice) (Criteria: Listenership and coverage)
– Fresh FM (Ibadan)
2-Best Indigenous Radio Station (North) (Hausa) (Listener’s Choice)
– Freedom Radio (Kano)
3-Best Indigenous Radio Station (East) (Igbo/pidgin) (Listener’s Choice)
– Odenigbo FM,(Obosi)


1-Best Newscaster (TV) Male
Sam Odion Bello (AIT)
2-Best Newscaster (TV) Female
– Azeezat Olaoluwa (TVC)
3-Best TV News Reporter
Best Mbiere (Independent Television)
4-Best Radio Newscaster (English) Male
-Abdolfatai Otori (Kapital FM Abuja)
5-Best Radio Newscaster (English) Female
-Enoh Ogbevire (Nigeria Info FM PH)
 6-Best Newscaster Pidgin/Igbo
-Ben10 – Wazobia FM PH
7-Best Newscaster Yoruba
– Kola Ladoke (Splash FM,Ibadan)
8-Best Newscaster Hausa
– Salisu Umar Abdullahi a.k.a Salinger


1-Best Pay Satellite/Digital TV channel provider 
9-Pay Satellite/ Digital TV channel provider with Best Technical Innovation


1-Best Voice-over Artiste
– Collins Teke (Inspiration FM, Ibadan)
2-Producer of the Year
– Nneka Luke (Democracy In Practice on Liberty TV)
3-Cameraman of the Year
– Godwin Nwachukwu (TVC)
4-Best Studio Engineer
– Rasheed Oniyangi (Liberty TV)
5-Best Programme Director                  
– Tope Oshin Ogun (Tinsel)
6- Best Visual Editor                            
– Oladimeji Peter Solomon (TVC)


1- Presenter Extraordinaire. (Viewers /Listeners Choice)
– Yinka Ayefele (Fresh FM, Ibadan)

IMG_1677_1024x683 IMG_1690_1024x683 IMG_1702_1024x683NBMA-PatronDr.-Tijjani-Ramalan-Hon-Minister-for-Comunicatio-Bar.-Adebayo-Shittu

IMG_1109_1024x683 IMG_1242_1024x683