Governor Ambode Inaugurates Lagos Employment Trust Fund

Lagos State Governor, Akinwunmi Ambode today, Thursday, March 3, inaugurated the Lagos State Employment Trust Fund.

According to Ambode, “the Fund is a turning point in the responsiveness of government to the yearnings of our youth and unemployed people.”

“The Employment Trust Fund is an instrument to galvanise the creative and innovative energies of all Lagosians. For clarity, the Employment Trust Fund will only be available to Lagosians and residents of Lagos State.

This initiative has been designed to succeed. Our government will commit N6.25billion every year within the Four years of this administration to a total of N25billion. Realizing that the first year of this administration is just 3 months away, precisely on May 29, 2016, the Commissioner for Finance is hereby directed to transfer the sum of N6.25b to the Employment Trust Fund immediately, today.

The effectiveness of this initiative will not be measured by the number of beneficiaries but by the number of successful businesses created, the number of employment opportunities offered and the overall multiplier effects on the State economy within a reasonable period of time. Lagos deserves nothing short of this.


I charge the Chairman and members of the Employment Trust Fund to hit the ground running and ensure that Lagosians feel their presence immediately. Every Senatorial Zone of the State must feel the positive impact of the Fund. The Board must ensure that the distribution of the fund is evenly spread across the State.

I urge individuals, corporate organisations and multi-lateral agencies to join our efforts in turning around the fortunes of our youths and thereby energise the State economy and by our actions, the Nigerian economy as a whole.” the governor said in his speech.


The members of the State Civil Service Commission are:

Mrs. Taiwo Adeyinka Oyemade            –           Chairman

Mr. Satar Arilesere

Mr. Wasiu Odeyemi

Engr. Oladimeji Oshinowo and

Pastor Israel Alagbe

The members of the Employment Trust Fund and the Civil Service Commission have been chosen based on their track record of professional integrity and selflessness. We are grateful to the Lagos State House of Assembly for considering the Chairman and Executive Secretary of the Employment Trust Fund worthy and suitable for the task ahead.

The members of this board include:

Mrs. Ifueko Omoigui-Okauru      –           Chairman

Engr. Dele Martins

Mrs. Bilikis Adebiyi-Abiola

Mr. Otto Orondam

Mrs. Olufunmi Olatunde Daudu

Mr. Tunde Bank-Anthony

Mr. Michael Popoola Ajayi

Mr. Tunde Durosinmi-Etti

Dr. Mustapha Akinkunmi and

Mr. Akintunde Oyebode             –           Executive Secretary

5 6