Ondo 2020: Buhari Congratulates Akeredolu On Re-Election

Ondo 2020: Buhari Congratulates Akeredolu On Re-Election




President Muhammadu Buhari has congratulated Governor Rotimi Akeredolu of Ondo State following his re-election for a second term and believes the development is an indication of the people’s choice.

On Sunday, Akeredolu was declared the winner of the election by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

Buhari’s congratulatory message was contained in a statement by his Special Adviser on Media and Publicity, Femi Adesina, titled “President Buhari congratulates Rotimi Akeredolu on re-election as Ondo governor.”

The statement read, “President Muhammadu Buhari rejoices with Rotimi Akeredolu SAN, on his re-election as Governor of Ondo State for another four-year term.

“The President lauds the resounding victory of the Governor at the election held on Saturday, October 10, 2020, noting that the votes garnered ‘show that one good turn surely deserves another.’

“He thanks the people of Ondo State for keeping faith with their Governor, and the All Progressives Congress, noting that ‘the people know the person and party that truly serves them, and have spoken in clear voice and unmistakable terms.’

“President Buhari appreciates the electorate in Ondo State for comporting themselves decently and in order, and for exhibiting conduct that indicates that the country is making progress in its electoral behaviour.

“He also gives kudos to the Independent National Electoral Commission for organising credible, free and fair election, and to security agencies which ensured that orderliness was enthroned and maintained.

“The President urges Gov Akeredolu to be humble and magnanimous in victory, and serve the people of Ondo State even better than how he did in the first term, noting: ‘when you serve with heart and might, the people respond in like manner, and we can easily get to where we are headed as a country.’”

Recall that Akeredolu had campaigned on the basis of providing a focussed and composed leadership for the south-west state and his win capped off a dramatic electoral process in which his deputy – Agbola Ajayi – defected to the PDP.

And although there were 17 candidates on the ballot for the election, according to INEC, about 11 of them collapsed their structures and backed other flagbearers, just days to the exercise.

This left Akeredolu, Jegede and Ajayi as the major candidates for the second election conducted in the COVID-19 era in Nigeria.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.